• A  A  A
  • Contact Us

    Office Hours

    8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday, except certain holidays.

    Office Location

    The MPO is located on the 2nd Floor of the 2nd Floor of the Simms Municipal Building, 808 S. Buchanan St. in Downtown Amarillo. Click Here for a location map. Bilingual assistance is available.

    Mailing Address

    Amarillo Metropolitan Planning Organization
    P.O. Box 1971,
    Amarillo, TX 79105-1971
    For FedEx,
    UPS, or other parcel delivery use:
    Room 237, 808 S. Buchanan St.,
    Amarillo, TX 79101-1971

    E-mail Address

    If you would like to be included on the MPO mailing list, email your name, address, and zip code to: [email protected]

    MPO Staff Contact Numbers

    The MPO Staff provides support to the Policy Committee and the Technical Committee. The MPO staff also carries out three major work activities to meet specific federal requirements. The staff develops and maintains.

    • the Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) through a “continuing, comprehensive, and cooperative (3C)” planning process
    • the biennial development of a four-year program for highway and transit improvements known as the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)
    • the annual adoption of a comprehensive one-year planning program. The Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) describes and coordinates the individual transportation planning activities of all member agencies in the area.
    MPO Director
    Gary Holwick
    [email protected]
    Phone: 806-378-6293 Fax: 806.378.6062
    MPO Senior Planner
    Travis Muno
    [email protected]
    Voice: 806-378-4219 Fax: 806-378-6062
    MPO Transit Management Analyst
    Chris Quigley
    [email protected]
    Voice: 806.378.6902

    Department of Transportation Amarillo District Office


    MPO Policy Committee Membership

    The Transportation Policy Committee is the decision making body. It approves and adopts all the transportation planning activities of the Metropolitan Planning Organization.

    The MPO Technical Committee provides technical support to this committee. Full-time MPO staff provides support to the Policy Committee. Staff from the United States Departmen of Transportation and the Texas Department of Transportation also provides technical assistance and guidance.

    July 2017

    Member’s Name Member’s Title Representing Elected
    Ginger Nelson Mayor City of Amarillo X
    Jared Miller City Manager City of Amarillo
    Eddy Sauer City Commissioner City of Amarillo X
    Dick Davis Amarillo Chamber of Commerce
    Kyle Ingham Local Government Services Director Panhandle Regional Planning Commission
    H.R. Kelly County Commissioner Potter County X
    Nancy Tanner County Judge Potter County X
    Mark Benton County Commissioner Randall County X
    Ernie Houdashell County Judge Randall County X
    Brian Crawford, P.E. District Engineer TxDOT, Amarillo
    Kit Black, P.E. Director Transportation Programming & Development TxDOT, Amarillo
    Gary Holwick MPO Director Amarillo MPO
    Travis Muno Transportation Planner Amarillo MPO
    Chris Quigley Management Analyst Amarillo MPO
    AJ Fawver Planning Director City of Amarillo
    Terry Nix Urban Transportation Planner TxDOT, Amarillo
    Kirk Fauver Urban Planner FHWA, Austin
    Richard Neill District Transit Planner TxDOT, Amarillo
    Gary Hinders Mayor City of Canyon X
    Randy Criswell City Manager City of Canyon
    Gary Pitner Director Panhandle Regional Planning Commission
    John Smithee State Representative State of Texas X
    Walter T. Price State Representative State of Texas X
    Kel Seliger State Senator State of Texas X
    Mac Thornberry U. S. Representative State of Texas X

    *Committee Chairperson **Vice Committee Chairperson

    MPO Technical Committee Membership

    The Technical Advisory Committee provides technical expertise to the Policy Advisory Committee by reviewing and recommending revisions to the planning process, data collection, forecasts, the Unified Work Program, the Transportation Improvement Program, and the Metropolitan Transportation Plan.
    Full-time MPO staff provides support to the Technical Advisory Committee. Staff from the United States Department of Transportation and the Texas Department of Transportation also provides technical assistance and guidance.

    Member’s Name


    Holwick, Gary Amarillo MPO
    Muno, Travis Amarillo MPO
    Quigley, Chris Amarillo MPO
    Vacant City of Amarillo
    Schniederjan, Kyle, P.E. City of Amarillo
    Fawver, AJ City of Amarillo
    Reese, Dan City of Canyon
    Ysaguirre, Sebastin Potter County
    Sorrell, Tim Randall County
    Crawford, Brian, P.E TxDOT, Amarillo
    Black, Kit, P.E. TxDOT, Amarillo
    Johnson, Blair, P.E. TxDOT, Amarillo
    Wimberley, John TxDOT, Amarillo
    Nix, Terry TxDOT, Amarillo
    Hochstein, Randy, P.E. TxDOT, Amarillo
    Neill, Richard TxDOT, Amarillo